Skip to Content

PGA Teacher & Coach of the Year

This award was inaugurated in 1986 to honor outstanding teachers of golf among the ranks of the PGA of America membership. The award is based on the professional’s overall performance in teaching; innovative and special teaching programs the professional has played a key role in implementing; and articles written in books and magazines.

2023 Gale Peterson, PGA (Sea Island Golf Club)
2022 Charlie King, PGA (Georgia Golf Center)
2021 Daniel Gray, PGA (Sea Island Golf Club)
2020 Jason Kuiper, PGA (Bobby Jones Golf Course)
2019 Peter Jones, PGA (Cherokee Town & Country Club)
2018 Brandon Stooksbury, PGA (Idle Hour Golf & Country Club)
2017 Ray Cutright, PGA (Idle Hour Golf & Country Club)
2016 Shawn Koch, PGA (Country Club of the South)
2015 John Tillery, PGA (Lane Creek Golf Club)
2014 Kevin Roman, PGA (Cherokee Town & Country Club)
2013 Jon Tattersall, PGA (Executive Golf Links)
2012 Jeff Paton, PGA (The Golf Club of Georgia)
2011 Charlie King, PGA (The Kingdom at Reynolds Lake Oconee)
2010 Bobby Hix, PGA (Idle Hour Golf & Country Club)
2009 Todd Anderson, PGA (Sea Island Golf Club)
2008 Cody Barden, PGA (White Columns Country Club)
2007 Scott Hamilton, PGA (Cartersville Country Club)
2006 Ted Fort, PGA (Marietta Golf Center)
2005 Chan Reeves, PGA (Atlanta Athletic Club)
2004 Bill Goggin, PGA (Southern Landings Golf Club)
2003 Jim Goergen, PGA (Sea Island Golf Club)
2002 Thomas Ness, PGA (Château Élan Golf Club)
2001 Tom Losinger, PGA (BridgeMill Athletic Club)
2000 Wendell Coffee, PGA (Wendell Coffee Golf Center)
1999 Chris Asbell, PGA (Georgia Golf Center)
1998 Tommy Brannen, PGA (Atlanta Athletic Club)
1997 Gale Peterson, PGA (Sea Island Golf Club)
1996 Phil Kelnhofer, PGA (Cherokee Town & Country Club)
1995 George Kelnhofer, PGA (Atlanta Golf Center)
1994 Mike Perpich, PGA (St. Ives Country Club)
1993 Danny Elkins, PGA (Georgia Golf Center)
1992 Jack Lumpkin, PGA (Sea Island Golf Club)
1991 Lowell Fritz, PGA (Dalton Golf & Country Club)
1990 Charles Sorrell, PGA (Lake Spivey Golf Club)
1989 Bert Seagraves, PGA (Coosa Country Club)
1988 Bill Byars, PGA (Fox Creek Golf Club)
1987 John Gerring, PGA (Sea Island Golf Club)
1986 Davis Love, Jr., PGA (Sea Island Golf Club)