Today is December 14, 2018   |   PROFESSIONAL LOGIN   
The Legends

The Georgia PGA recognized its 2017 Award winners at the Section's 11th annual Special Awards and Weir Scholarship Banquet at the College Football Hall of Fame in early March. The event is Presented by the Shirley and Billy Weir Foundation and Club Car.  Award recipients and recipients of the Weir scholarship are shown to the right:


Shirley and Billy Weir


Click Here to View
Award Descriptions


2017 Award Winners

Professional of the YearBrian Albertson, PGA - Coosa Country Club, Rome, GA  - The Golf Professional of the Year Award is determined annually by the Georgia PGA to honor the working club professional whose total contributions to the game best exemplify the complete PGA golf professional. While the honor is based on the candidate's entire record, special emphasis is placed on performance in areas such as service to the section and the Association, leadership ability, and the promotion of golf.

Teacher of the YearRay Cutright PGA - Idle Hour Golf Club, Macon, GA - This award was inaugurated in 1986 to honor outstanding teachers of golf among the ranks of the PGA of America membership. The award is based on the professional's overall performance in teaching; innovative and special teaching programs the professional has played a key role in implementing; and articles written in books and magazines.

President's Award Winner – Joe Devaney, PGA - Athens Country Club, Athens, GA
- Introduced for the first time in 2003, the President's Award is presented annually to a Section member based on the following criteria: Overall promotion of golf, level of impact on the game of golf, ability to inspire fellow professionals, and level of professional expertise. 


Bill Strausbaugh Award – John Wade, PGA - Sea Island Golf Club, St. Simons Island, GA - This award bestows special recognition on a PGA Professional who has shown outstanding integrity, commitment to mentoring his fellow PGA Professionals in improving their employment situations, and involvement in community and charitable activities.

Horton Smith AwardBrandon Stooksbury, PGA - Idle Hour Country Club, Macon, GA  - The Horton Smith Trophy is an award designed to give special recognition to an individual golf professional for outstanding and continuing contributions to professional education.

Youth Player Development Award – Chris Knobloch, PGA - Braelinn Golf Club, Newnan, GA - Started in 1988, the Junior Golf Leader Award recognizes the PGA Professional who is a leader in junior golf and who reflects the ideals of those who work with youth. Work by this PGA professional includes the promotion and development of junior golf at the club level, and support for national junior golf programs.


Player Development Award Paul Johnson, PGA - Mary Calder Golf Club, Savannah, GA - This award is presented to the PGA Professional that has made extraordinary contributions and achievements in conducting and/or supporting Play Golf America initiatives. The award also considers the member's service to the Association, and involvement in community and charitable activities.

Assistant Professional of the YearCory Cooper , PGA - Capital City Club, Atlanta, GA - The Assistant Professional of the Year Award is based on the criteria outlined for Professional of the Year: overall performance at his/ her club; service to the section and the Association, and leadership ability.
Merchandisers of the Year- In 1978, The PGA of America and Sports Illustrated established the Merchandiser of the Year Award to recognize those PGA professionals who have excelled as businessmen/ merchandisers in the promotion of golf. The Georgia PGA honors professionals in three categories: Public, Private, and Resort.

Private Category – Ryan Joyce
, PGA - Hawks Ridge Golf Club, Cumming, GA

Public Category –
Steven Rudd, PGA - City Club Marietta, Marietta, GA

Resort Category – Brian Conley, PGA - Legacy on Lake Lanier, Sugar Hill, GA

Salesman of the Year –Robert Duggar - E-Z-Go/Textron - In recognition of your dedicated, generous and tireless support of the Georgia PGA. This award honors the golf salesperson in the Georgia Section for her/his outstanding service and dedication to the members and apprentices of the Georgia PGA.

Patriot Award – Kevin Aines, PGA - Lake Arrowhead Yacht & C.C. , Woodstock, GA - The Patriot Award bestows special recognition on a PGA Golf Professional, who personifies patriotism through the game of golf and demonstrates unwavering commitment and dedication to the men and women who have valiantly served and protected the United States of America. 

Distinguished Service Award – Davis Love III, PGA - PGA Tour, Sea Island, GA - Begun in 2000, the Georgia PGA Distinguished Service Award is presented to an individual who has had a significant impact on the game of golf within Georgia, by promoting interest and involvement, and/or through service to the game. Those selected shall have displayed humanitarian qualities including integrity, good sportsmanship, and a love and enthusiasm for the game of golf.


Shirley and Billy Weir Foundation Scholarship Recipients


Hannah Peterson, Watkinsville, GA
University of Georgia


Trey Leonard, Lake Park, GA
University of Georgia

Kelley Losinger, Marietta, GA
University of Georgia


Madison Anderson, Brunswick, GA
Georgia Institute of Technology

Parker Esoda, Marietta, GA
University of South Carolina


Ashley Biscan
University of Georgia

David Kemp
University of Georgia

Kristin Fillingim
University of Georgia


Ashley Asbell, Roswell, GA
UNC Charlotte

Megan Heilman
University of Georgia


Evan Gill, Columbus, GA
University of Georgia

Angie Losinger, Marietta, GA
University of Georgia


Jonathan Klotz, Columbus, GA
Kennesaw State University

Mary Catherine Wilder, LaGrange, GA
Furman University


Erica Robinson, Lilburn, GA
Georgia College & State University


Mack Burgess, Roswell, GA
University of Tennessee

Brett McNeilly, Kennesaw, GA
University of Alabama

Brittani Nichols, Kennesaw, GA
Brigham Young University


Angela Hix, Macon, GA
Okaloosa-Walton Community College

Brendan Gillins, Savannah, GA
Augusta State University

Ann Marie Wagoner, Duluth, GA
University of Alabama

Table of Contents

1 - 2017 Award Winners
2 - Award Descriptions